• Chapel Hill-Carrboro Business Hall of Fame

    To commemorate its 50th anniversary, the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce launched the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Business Hall of Fame in 2013. More than 150 guests gather for a black-tie gala and dinner to celebrate the best of the best in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro business community. The 2016 Chapel Hill-Carrboro Business Hall of Fame Gala will be held 6:30-9:30 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 4 at The Carolina Inn

    2015 Inductees in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Business Hall of Fame: 

    • Eva Barnett, Eva's Beauty Shop

    • Stephen Edwards, Midway Barber Shop

    • The Hogan Family, Lake Hogan Farm

    • Jean Holcomb, Viking Travel

    • Eddie Mann, Orange Federal Savings & Loan

    • Ted Seagroves, Seagroves Insurance Agency

    • John Woodard, Sutton's Drug Store

    Business of the Year Awards


    Business Excellence Awards, BEAS

    On May 13 we will honor the very best in business at the Business Excellence Awards at Playmakers Repertory Company in ten Business of the Year award categories and a dozen People's Choice categories selected by you. Join us for a dazzling red carpet awards ceremony complete with a cocktail reception, awards ceremony, entertainment and after party. The Oscars meets business excellence at the BEAS! 

    Contact Chela Tu for sponsorship opportunities. 


  • Business of the Year Awards

    • University Born Business

    • New Business

    • Mircro-Enterprise

    • CHYP Under 40

    • Mid-size Business

    • Business Woman of the Year

    • Large Business

    • Community Impact

    • Non-Profit

    • Innovation

  • People's Choice

    • Best Customer Servce

    • Best Restaurant

    • Best Automotive

    • Best Retail

    • Best Services

    • Best Real Estate Agency

    • Best Hotel

    • Best Special Event Venue

    • Best Family Outing

    • Best Consignment/Thrift Retailer

    • Best Dentist

    • Best Medical Practice 

  • To learn more about the BEAs and the general requirements for nominations, please visit carolinahcamber.org/beas


    Photo credit: Kevin Seifert PhotographyChamber Annual Meeting

    More than 350 Chamber members, elected officials and guests attend the Chamber’s Annual Meeting each January. The meeting includes lunch, a review of the Cham­ber’s work over the past year, an overview of year ahead, and a presentation of the Duke Energy Citizenship & Service Award, Chair's Award for Public-Private Partnership, Chair's Award for Exceptional Service to the Chamber & It's Members, and Chamber Ambassador of the Year. The 2016 Annual Meeting wasbe held 8:30-10 a.m., Thursday, Jan. 26, 2016.


    Chair’s Award for Public-Private Partnership

    Our Chamber is committed to building strong public-private partnerships and understands those partnerships are critical to building a successful and sustainable community.  In recognition of such a partnership, the Chair’s Award for Public-Private Partnership is presented to a community leader who through his or her actions and service to the community promotes public-private partnerships.

    • 2015 Chair’s Award for Public-Private Partnership awarded to Mayor Tom Stevens, Hillsborough


    Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award

    The Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award is a tribute to individuals or groups who make a difference in their communities and organizations by using their time, talents and compassion to positively impact the lives of others.

    • 2015 Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award: University of North Carolina President Emeritus Tom Ross


    Chair's Award for Excellence in Service to the Chamber and It's Members

    The 2014 Chair's Award for Excellence in Service to the Chamber and It's Members is presented to an individual whose service to the Chamber is long and successful.

    • 2015 Chair's Award for Excellence in Service to the Chamber and It's Members: Vice President of Regions Bank, Chris Barnes


    Chamber Ambassador of the Year

    Chamber Ambassadors are a very special group of Chamber members who serve as the Chamber staff's primary liaison to our newest Chamber members. 

    • 2015 Chamber Ambassador of the Year: Jeffrey Wehner, Financial Wellness and Benefits advisor

    Salute to Community Heroes

    Photo Credit: Kevin Seifert.Each December at a festive after hours event, the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber recognizes the men and women who are committed to making Chapel Hill-Carrboro a thriving, healthy and sustainable community. The Salute to Community Heroes awards are expressions of the Chamber and its Partnership for a Sustainable Community’s commitment to our community and an effort to recognize and encourage volunteerism and selfless service. The 2015 Salute to Community Heroes was held 6-8 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 10 at University Mall.



    Presented to an individual who believes that leadership and citizenship are the two essential ingredients to the community’s well being. Candidates should embrace both qualities through service to civic or charitable organizations, through elected office or appointed position, and/or through encouragement of ethical business practices and commitment to excellence.

    • 2015 Citizen of the Year: Mark Kleinschmidt, Town of Chapel Hill



    Presented to an individual who fosters a mutually beneficial relationship between the community and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Candidates should demonstrate a commitment to civic affairs and demonstrate leadership in cultivating the relationship among faculty, staff, students and government officials, citizens, and the business community.

    • 2015 Town & Gown Award Recipient: Anna Wu, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill



    Presented annually to an individual who has volunteered his/her time, talents and energy to enhance the quality of life in our community. Candidates should demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to volunteerism and service to our community.

    • 2015 Jim Gibson Volunteer of the Year: Archie Daniel, Orange County Sheriff's Office



    This special award for service, named in honor of its first recipient, is presented on occasion to individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of exceptional public service and volunteerism in the greater Chapel Hill-Carrboro community in multiple capacities with different organizations. This special honor is only awarded when a nominee’s consistent volunteerism and service have made a profound impact on our community.

    • 2015 Irene Briggaman Lifetime Achievement Award: Rev. Fred Battle and Rev. Dr. Robert Seymour, Binkley Baptist Church